RG - Conférence de presse après la demi-finale

 

 

 

Rafael Nadal serves to Andy Murray in the semi-final. Going into their 20th head-to-head match, Rafael leads Andy 14:5.

An interview with... Rafael Nadal

Q.  Have you played better this season?  That was quite an amazing performance?Friday, June 6, 2014

    RAFAEL NADAL:  Well.  I said the other day that I was practising better than a long time ago, so that's why the result today, no? 
    Normally when you are playing well, then you are able to play with the right position and go on court with the right intensity.  You can do it.  You can play at the same level that you are practicing, so I think something that I did today.
    I think I played very well with my forehand.  I think was important to serve the way that I served today.  Is true that for a player like Andy   he's a big returner   that he make more mistakes than usual on the return. 
    But is true too that I made a lot of times serve, and the first shot with my forehand starts to be very positive because I am able to take the advantage from the first shot.
    And then if I am able to hit a few forehands in a row probably not one month ago, but today if I am able to hit a few forehands in a row is true that normally I have a lot of chances, have had good success.

    Q.  Were you expecting one month ago when you were losing some matches which you normally don't lose to be able in one month to recover so well and to be so strong?  Also, did you expect that Murray didn't make more than seven points on returning your serve until half of the third set?
    RAFAEL NADAL:  Well, I didn't see the statistics, obviously.  Is difficult to talk about statistics for me.  I talk about my feelings.  Is true that I lost a few matches, but playing the way that I played today probably I will not.
    But another thing that is true is every week on the clay court season I was doing something better.  So if I was able to start a little bit before with that improve    not talking about the level of today, but if I was able to play a little bit like I did in Rome few weeks before, probably we will be here talking about a great clay court season. 
    But the problem is always the same.  The problem is the past.  Problem is comparisons, because for everyone that in the clay court season make quarterfinals in Monte Carlo, quarterfinals in Barcelona, winning Madrid, final in Rome, and final in Roland Garros, will be a very positive clay court season. 
    But probably comparing with the last eight years will be a little bit more negative.  For me, still a very good clay court season.  Important thing is that I played at very high level today.  I finished well the match the other day.  I played again probably my best match in the clay court season today.
    So happy for that.  Very happy for that.  Seriously.  Very, very happy to be in the final of Roland Garros again.  That's something very special for me, and I'm happy that I am.

    Q.  Two questions:  were you nicely surprised as the match advanced that things went so smoothly or easily in this match?  Did you expect this kind of score?  The second question is like Djoko has never won Paris.  Do you think that the fact that he will have this big appetite for this first win here might be an extra problem for you on Sunday?  Is that a factor?
    RAFAEL NADAL:  The first thing, sorry, but is difficult for me to answer a question like this.  When you're going on court playing against one of the best players in the world, you don't expect nothing.  You expect a tough match.  You expect play point by point, and you expect to play your best to try to win.  That's the real thing.
    The second thing, Novak already did a lot times positive results here.  It's nothing new for him to be in the final.  He has the motivation to win Roland Garros for the first time for sure. 
    But at the same time, he has the pressure to win for the first time.  I have the pressure that I want to win and the motivation that I want to win the ninth.  So I don't see a big difference on that.  I'm going to go on court with the same motivation than him.  I don't know if the same pressure than him.  Probably we are in different situations. 
    But I don't know if that's gonna make a big impact on the match.  What's going to make the real impact is the player who will be playing better.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Personnaly © 2014 -  Hébergé par Overblog