Article atptennis.com 11-03-07

Nadal, Roddick Start Strong

Rafael Nadal
Second seed Rafael Nadal served 10 aces and saved five of six break points faced in a 6-3, 7-6(3) win over Frenchman Arnaud Clement to reach the third round. Nadal is trying to break an eight-month title drought dating back to his successful title defense at Roland Garros last year.

 

The 20-year-old Spaniard won 11 titles in 2005 and six titles in the first six months of 2006, but he is yet to hoist another trophy. His last final came at Wimbledon in July.

Nadal said: "I served very well the first set. I have ten aces, and that's not every day for me... [But] the backhand at the end of the first set, I can't put one backhand inside the court. That's true, no? But, well, I was playing very well with the forehand and that's important and I win the match."

Bidding to win his first Pacific Life Open title, Andy Roddick defeated Spaniard Feliciano Lopez 7-6(5) 6-4 to reach the third round. Roddick next faces diminutive Belgian Olivier Rochus, a 6-1, 6-4 winner over Vince Spadea.

Roddick said: "I did what I needed to do. I could have hit the ball better on transition. I don't know if I was committing to my shots enough. But I served well and I put my returns in the court, which gave me a chance. And I played well when I had to. The first round is always a little awkward. I thought he served really well, so that made it a little tough as well."

Roddick improved to 15-3 on the year but he is still chasing his first title of the season and his first crown since winning the ATP Masters Series title in Cincinnati last summer.

Roddick has reached the fourth round or better in Indian Wells for the past four years. His best showing was a semifinal (l. Hewitt) in 2005.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Personnaly © 2014 -  Hébergé par Overblog