S.O. du tournoi - ROMA - Interview du 11.05.2011

 

 

Intervista a Rafael Nadal

Rome, Italy

Da Internazionali BNL D'Italia

Q: Rafa, this is a sad day today in Spain for the funeral of Sevi (Ballastreros). That must have been a difficult day with that in your mind.
Nadal:
It was not an especially difficult day. There have been difficult days these last few days because we lost one of the best sportsmen in the history of Spain and even in the world and I think he was a great inspiration for a lot of kids in Spain and……. he made golf important in Spain and probably a lot of places in the world. I have the honour to meet him and play with him but….. it is terrible …… what happened at the end and he is a great example for everyone. I talked with the family and it is very difficult to say something now. For me its just ….. you cannot understand it.

Q: Rafa when was the last time you think you played a match that bad -- or as erratically as that. We know you won the match but I am disappointed because it was not normal performance?
Nadal:
I do not know. On clay a long time ago… But it is not the moment to compare but it is more a moment to look in front . Seriously, I cannot talk about the match -- I said what I said and I think for a moment he played a good match with good service and a good volley. But anyway, I am glad that I won and one very positive thing is tomorrow I am going to play better for sure because worse is not possible. …. (laughter).
All that is a good starting point. Seriously, I think there is a difference between Madrid and Rome, different conditions and the altitude and the speed of the ball and everything is completely different. After losing the final there makes everything more difficult and you know, you do not have time for practice and you are a little bit more tired and you arrive a little bit more sad because you lost the final and all these facts make it difficult. I knew that before I started the match and I knew that I had to fight -- but I am in the third round and that is very important for me and so I have another day to try and play better. Let us try, let us see what is going on. The first round was difficult but now I am in the third round. Tomorrow I have another day to try and play better. Let us try and see what is going on. 2 victory and 1 final in the last five tournaments I have played 5 finals in a row, two victories and three losses and so -- the season is fantastic for me and so let us forget the match today and try to have a better level tomorrow.
I want to have a positive tournaments this year and I am happy about what I am doing and that is it -- I have to be confident with myself and tomorrow I have to play more aggressive. I have to move faster, I have to play more inside the court and to play to my advantage and I have to do this with some small things. I think I am able to do it then it will change a lot.

Q: Are -- you have experienced a long sequences of victories before. Obviously Novak’s is a long sequence. From your experience, will there be something that is quite difficult to react to once the sequence comes to an end like yours did in Madrid?
Nadal:
When you are winning the match then losing affects you less. When I am winning and then I arrive only to the quarter-finals and I lose and you think that you have been playing fantastic in the last few months or weeks and so you think about the next tournament. Novak will lose tomorrow, I do not know …… or in six months ……. but tennis is like this and some moments are fantastic and you feel confident and unbeatable and then things change and fortunately he has a big advantage because he is a complete player and he plays all over the place and this is a big advantage and another big advantage is that he is very good. He is playing well…. and I am happy about how I am doing. We will see what is going on next week's, next month or next year.

Q: In the first press conference that I attended in 2002 when you were 16 in Monte Carlo late at night, you had won 45 tournaments. I would like to know what has changed now and if you still remember the window to hand in Rome in 2005, 7,6 in the 5th with Coria -- I know at some years ago that I want to know if this will get you some feelings and remember anything about it. Personally I can remember having your shirt which is still not been cleaned but this is not smelling (laughter) ……..
Nadal:
You are talking about 2005?

Q: Yes, with Coria…..
Nadal:
Laughter……. I played with an orange T-shirt

Q: No, that was with Federer --- (laughter)……
Nadal:
Does someone have a photo or video? I can remember in that tournament I played with the ……. (inaudible) ……..
I remember a lot of things. I can remember I was very tired….. I remember I wore orange and I remember a lot of things. It was probably one of the most unforgettable finals in my career and I remember when I was losing 3,0 with a double break in the 5th and the crowd started to support me -- it was one of the best finals in my career for sure. Really unforgettable and the crowd was brilliant.

Q: Was that more important than the final with Federer?
Nadal:
Different kind of match. Different styles of game -- at that moment I played more similar with very long point on the baseline and in my opinion, I prefer the final with Coria but with Federer it was special because two completely different styles and this makes the match special and it was a big battle for me.

Q: Inaudible………
Nadal:
against Roger I was on floor too.

Q: Before the match what did you know about Lorenzi. Did you ask anyone about him?
Nadal:
I did not know . I know him only because my friend Lopez knows him well and they told me that he has a big talent and I saw him play sometimes but I really did not see a lot of its play. I went on court trying to focus on my game like I do every time and I try to play aggressive and so, and I am glad and I did some good points but I think it is….. I gave him an easy match to play ...


Q: Are you little bit nervous about Novak or not?
Nadal:
About what?

Q: Because he keeps winning, if he wins every game then ………
Nadal:
No -- that is part of the game …… I am nervous but that is not because of Novak -- I played bad in the semifinals and in Madrid and this was my feeling. I do not like to play like that. Not for Novak -- I think Novak is doing a fantastic play and he has beaten me three times but I do not know how many times I have beaten him in the past. I beat him in the US Open final a few months ago and in Masters Cup a few months ago too. That is part of the game and I beat him 2 times in the semifinals of the Roland Garros ….. the semifinals in Madrid a few years ago and now he is playing well. In the past I played very well against him and I have had a lot of titles and I could not be nervous about Novak because I am more than happy about all I have done in my career. Really, I have won more and I am going to keep fighting to improve my game to try and find solutions to play better -- not only against Novak -- if I played better than I will also have my chances against Novak. In Madrid I think I played bad and I want to play well and I do it my way and he is doing it is a way and he is doing very well. No -- I am not nervous and I am happy about my season and the one they are doing better than me and then I just try to be better but the next time and this is what I am trying and this is what I am going to try

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Personnaly © 2014 -  Hébergé par Overblog